You are viewing an obsolete version of the DU website which is no longer supported by the Administrators. Visit The New DU.
Democratic Underground Latest Greatest Lobby Journals Search Options Help Login

Pac-10 announces split into North-South divisions for new 12-school alignment [View All]

Printer-friendly format Printer-friendly format
Printer-friendly format Email this thread to a friend
Printer-friendly format Bookmark this thread
This topic is archived.
Home » Discuss » Topic Forums » Sports Donate to DU
JonLP24 Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Thu Oct-21-10 03:36 PM
Original message
Pac-10 announces split into North-South divisions for new 12-school alignment
Advertisements [?]
Edited on Thu Oct-21-10 03:41 PM by JonLP24
The conference, which has had 10 schools since Arizona and Arizona State joined in 1978, will split into North and South divisions for football beginning next season.

The South will feature USC, UCLA, Arizona, Arizona State and the two newcomers -- Colorado and Utah.

The North division will be Stanford, Cal, Oregon, Oregon State, Washington and Washington State.

The league also announced it will stage a conference title game in December of 2011 at the home field of the highest-ranked team.

Pac-10 announces plan for new divisions, revenue sharing


Stanford and California will play USC and UCLA each season, which means each of the four Northwest schools will play USC every other year and UCLA every other year. The Northwest teams would each make a trip to play in Los Angeles every other year.


A football conference championship game will be played in December 2011 at the home field of the team with the best record in its nine conference games. If teams are tied, Scott said there will be a tiebreaker model in place that will begin with head-to-head meetings.

Football is the only sport that will be split into divisions, Scott said.


Scott announced that media revenue will be shared equally beginning with the next contract, which will be in effect starting with the 2012-13 school year. If media revenue does not reach $170 million annually, USC and UCLA will each receive an extra $2 million. Once the $170 million threshold is reached on an annual basis, the revenue will be shared equally among the 12 schools.

On edit-I should point out it looks like they are still going to keep playing 9 conference games like they do today.
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top

Home » Discuss » Topic Forums » Sports Donate to DU

Powered by DCForum+ Version 1.1 Copyright 1997-2002
Software has been extensively modified by the DU administrators

Important Notices: By participating on this discussion board, visitors agree to abide by the rules outlined on our Rules page. Messages posted on the Democratic Underground Discussion Forums are the opinions of the individuals who post them, and do not necessarily represent the opinions of Democratic Underground, LLC.

Home  |  Discussion Forums  |  Journals |  Store  |  Donate

About DU  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy

Got a message for Democratic Underground? Click here to send us a message.

© 2001 - 2011 Democratic Underground, LLC