HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Tetrachloride » Journal
Page: 1

Tetrachloride

Profile Information

Name: Cl4
Gender: Male
Hometown: Madison, WI
Home country: USA
Current location: Madison
Member since: Thu Feb 14, 2019, 05:51 PM
Number of posts: 122

Journal Archives

Mac Security update 10.13.6 May

Hello all,

I updated Mac OS 10.13.6.

The computer rebooted about 4-5 times, taking 20 minutes in the process.

I did the update via the App Store.

I read that doing a direct download via the Apple Security Update pages may be better.

Back up your data -- PLEASE.
Posted by Tetrachloride | Sun Jun 23, 2019, 08:17 AM (2 replies)

Trump buying facebook ads and the likely other shoe drops

Sorry if this may be old news. I just found a Facebook ad from DJT.

I blocked it fast. It seemed a popularity prop for the coming shoe drops.

If (when) one of the investigations does something tangible toward Trump, we can expect every kind of trolling and division.

This FB ad campaign is the first wave.
Posted by Tetrachloride | Thu Mar 21, 2019, 03:02 PM (3 replies)

"Be like #50"

headline from https://www.fark.com/comments/10354755/Be-Like-50

Video on Twitter https://twitter.com/RexChapman/status/1106765148537147398

For those without video access, a young basketball player helps another to take a couple of shots.
Posted by Tetrachloride | Sun Mar 17, 2019, 03:35 PM (5 replies)

System Preferences quirks

Hello all, this thread is to highlight where things may be placed where you do not expect inside System Preferences. (Windows users would say "control panels." )

1. The setting for when the screen goes black is in "Energy Saver", not "Desktop & Screensaver", nor in "Displays."

2. "Security and Privacy" does not include anything about cookies, Javascript and content blocking for Safari, Apple's own browser. This is "because" Safari is an App, not part of the "System". Right.

3. Mac OS offers to store your passwords. This is done with a utility called Keychain Access, which is stored in the Applications / Utilities subfolder. Once again, a system feature which is not found in System Preferences (unless one does a "password" search in System Preferences.

4. The System Preferences window is a fixed size. No way to resize.

5. The "keyboard" and "language" panels have overlapping duties.

6. "Internet Accounts" and "Network" are different.

7. "Users & Groups" used to be called "Accounts."

8. "Sound" and "Notifications" are somehow different. When I hear a sound, and I dont know what it is, diagnosis will take a while.

9. "Accessibility" is for various adjustments to keyboard, screen, mouse. This is the most unfriendly panel. Ironic is an understatement.

One more thing.

10. iCloud, the Photos app and your iPhone photos. You may fall into the hole where your Phone AND iCloud get full. Meanwhile, hundreds of megabytes are empty on your Mac.

I'll stop here. Welcome to the thread.
Posted by Tetrachloride | Mon Mar 4, 2019, 03:15 PM (4 replies)

On campaign websites

The topic here is the campaign web sites as it pertains to the ability to learn about the candidates, not the issues espoused. For now, I am omitting the Congressional websites.

How quickly are website visitors able to learn about the candidate ?

As an undecided, I'm interested in issues. Today, I visited the official websites of Kamala Harris, Amy Klobuchar, Elizabeth Warren, Kirsten Gillibrand, Bernie Sanders, Sherrod Brown, John Delaney, Tulsi Gabbard, Julian Castro, Cory Booker, Andrew Yang, Pete Buttigieg and Marianne Williamson.

I found 3 websites for Tulsi Gabbard. One appears to be a PAC funded website. Another is from a previous campaign. I include the extra site for Tulsi because it has above average design.

I viewed these sites on a 2017 iMac running OS 10.13.6, in the Epic browser.

Kamala Harris https://kamalaharris.org/

Amy Klobuchar https://amyklobuchar.com/

Elizabeth Warren https://elizabethwarren.com/

Kirsten Gillibrand https://kirstengillibrand.com/

Bernie Sanders https://berniesanders.com/

Sherrod Brown https://www.sherrodbrown.com/

John Delaney https://www.johndelaney.com/

Julian Castro https://www.julianforthefuture.com/

Cory Booker http://www.corybooker.com/

Andrew Yang https://www.yang2020.com/

Marianne Williamson https://www.marianne2020.com/

Tulsi Gabbard 1 https://www.tulsigabbard.org/

Tulsi Gabbard 2 https://www.votetulsi.com/

Tulsi Gabbard 3 https://www.tulsi2020.com/

These candidates have campaign sites which are clearly below par in terms of presenting issues without excessive clicking or scrolling:

Julian Castro, Kirsten Gillibrand, Amy Klobuchar, Bernie Sanders, Cory Booker, Pete Buttigieg and one of the sites of Tulsi Gabbard.

These candidates' campaign websites have tolerable or better sites in terms of issues:

Kamala Harris, Elizabeth Warren, Sherrod Brown, John Delaney, Andrew Yang and 2 of the Tulsi Gabbard sites.

Website design is both an art and a science.

I encourage the web designers to include more content of the issues.

Original posts edited to add sites for Andrew Yang and Marianne Williamson.
Posted by Tetrachloride | Mon Feb 25, 2019, 12:07 PM (10 replies)
Go to Page: 1