Welcome to DU! The truly grassroots left-of-center political community where regular people, not algorithms, drive the discussions and set the standards. Join the community: Create a free account Support DU (and get rid of ads!): Become a Star Member Latest Breaking News Editorials & Other Articles General Discussion The DU Lounge All Forums Issue Forums Culture Forums Alliance Forums Region Forums Support Forums Help & Search


(10,252 posts)
Tue Jul 30, 2019, 06:00 AM Jul 2019

Our non-virtuous POTUS

In Buddhist practice, there are 10 non-virtuous acts of body, speech, and mind that cause suffering to self and others. Trump seems to hit all of them all the time. Virtuous acts causing benefit to self and others would be their opposite. These virtues and nonvirtues are the ethical morality code of Buddhist practice.

Non-virtues of body - killing, stealing, sexual misconduct
Non-virtues of speech - lying, divisive speech, harsh speech, idle gossip
Non-virtues of mind - ill will, envy, wrong view. Wrong view concerns the teaching on emptiness, which is far too complex to described here. Suffice it to say that wrong view concerns belief that ego-self is a real, solid independent and self-existent entity.

1 replies = new reply since forum marked as read
Highlight: NoneDon't highlight anything 5 newestHighlight 5 most recent replies
Our non-virtuous POTUS (Original Post) vlyons Jul 2019 OP
7 deadly sins lapfog_1 Jul 2019 #1


(29,400 posts)
1. 7 deadly sins
Tue Jul 30, 2019, 06:32 AM
Jul 2019

Pride is excessive belief in one's own abilities, that interferes with the individual's recognition of the grace of God. It has been called the sin from which all others arise. Pride is also known as Vanity.

Envy is the desire for others' traits, status, abilities, or situation.

Gluttony is an inordinate desire to consume more than that which one requires.

Lust is an inordinate craving for the pleasures of the body.

Anger is manifested in the individual who spurns love and opts instead for fury. It is also known as Wrath.

Greed is the desire for material wealth or gain, ignoring the realm of the spiritual. It is also called Avarice or Covetousness.

Sloth is the avoidance of physical or spiritual work.


I think Trump hits the jackpot here... each and every deadly sin CHECK!

Latest Discussions»General Discussion»Our non-virtuous POTUS