HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Forums & Groups » Main » General Discussion (Forum) » Inside Adam Savage’s Tool...
Introducing Discussionist: A new forum by the creators of DU

Wed Aug 22, 2012, 08:46 PM

Inside Adam Savage’s Toolbox

Back when I was a professional model-maker at Industrial Light & Magic, my specialty was hard-edged construction—spaceships, miniature sets, and architectural stuff. These objects were sometimes just 12 inches across yet needed enough detail to fill a movie screen. One, for example, was the background I made of the Tipoca City building for the Obi-Wan-Jango Fett fight in episode two of Star Wars.

This work required a fine eye for detail—and tons of tools. By the time I moved to MythBusters in 2003, I had well over 300 items in my model-making kit. (Complete list here.) Of course, I love tools. I also love arranging them, to the point where I came up with a name for my organizing metric: first-order retrievability. It’s a function of two particular parts of my personality.

One: I like to work fast. I despise not having the right tool or, worse, knowing I have it but not being able to find it. It’s a pointless delay that wrecks my pace—and mood.

Two: I’m obsessed with the form of a toolbox. The idea of a portable kit that has everything you might need ignites something inside me. It’s like Batman’s utility belt.

http://www.wired.com/design/2012/08/inside-adam-savages-toolbox/

2 replies, 958 views

Reply to this thread

Back to top Alert abuse

Always highlight: 10 newest replies | Replies posted after I mark a forum
Replies to this discussion thread
Arrow 2 replies Author Time Post
Reply Inside Adam Savage’s Toolbox (Original post)
DainBramaged Aug 2012 OP
mysuzuki2 Aug 2012 #1
rocktivity Aug 2012 #2

Response to DainBramaged (Original post)

Wed Aug 22, 2012, 09:07 PM

1. I'd rather see the iside of DON Savages toolbox.

Okay, not really.

Reply to this post