Democratic Underground Latest Greatest Lobby Journals Search Options Help Login
Google

I might be biased but

Printer-friendly format Printer-friendly format
Printer-friendly format Email this thread to a friend
Printer-friendly format Bookmark this thread
This topic is archived.
Home » Discuss » Topic Forums » Sports Donate to DU
 
TZ Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Sun Dec-06-09 05:06 PM
Original message
I might be biased but
I think that "fumble" call at the end of Wash-NO is the worst call since the tuck rule. And that game gives NO a big advantage in the NFC playoff race
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top
 
JonLP24 Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Sun Dec-06-09 05:08 PM
Response to Original message
1. FWIW I thought it his left elbow was clearly down
before the ball started to appear to come out or anything. I'm not biased when it comes to this particular game and so I'm with you.
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top
 
BOSSHOG Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Sun Dec-06-09 05:09 PM
Response to Original message
2. TZ, your team was Champs today
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top
 
petronius Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Sun Dec-06-09 05:17 PM
Response to Original message
3. I'm biased the other way, but I agree with you
I was yelling that it was a fumble before the review, but the replay really didn't seem to show enough to conclusively overturn it. It looked to me like the NO was blocking the view of the elbow during the critical nanosecond...
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top
 
BulletproofLandshark Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Sun Dec-06-09 05:27 PM
Response to Original message
4. They started the next play before N.O. called time out.
The sorry refs gave them the time out anyway. They never should have even been allowed to look at that play.
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top
 
trotsky Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Sun Dec-06-09 07:49 PM
Response to Original message
5. Sue, the Foreskins were robbed.
Edited on Sun Dec-06-09 07:50 PM by trotsky
Worst call of the year that I've seen. And I know this because they got it wrong AFTER the review. The whistle had blown, so therefore even if replays showed a fumble (true) and a recovery by the Saints (also true), the fumbling team is supposed to retain possession at the spot of the fumble. (On edit: I know this is the rule, because it's what allowed Denver to keep the ball after that blown Hochuli call against the Chargers last year.)

That ref, and the replay crew, had better get the hell fined out of them, because they affected the outcome of a game with a BLOWN CALL.
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top
 
JonLP24 Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Sun Dec-06-09 08:00 PM
Response to Reply #5
6. They changed the rule specifically because of Hochuli
Edited on Sun Dec-06-09 08:03 PM by JonLP24
The new rules states that if the opposing team obviously recovers the ball they get the ball but I think his elbow was down. Trust me when I say they changed the rule. I'll give an example, week 1 Arizona vs San Francisco shortly before halftime Shaun Hill fumbled and the linebacker ran it in for a touchdown but it was ruled a forward pass. After review it showed the ball was loose and Hill's arm hit it forward and clearly went to an AZ player. Arizona got the ball but at the spot of the recovery and no touchdown.
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top
 
trotsky Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Sun Dec-06-09 08:14 PM
Response to Reply #6
7. The way I heard the Hochuli rule explained, it only applies to QB situations.
This was clearly not.

http://views.washingtonpost.com/theleague/nflnewsfeed/2...
The owners voted today to make such a play subject to a replay review. Under the new rule, the defensive team can be awarded possession of the ball if it made a recovery and the review shows the play to have been a fumble rather than an incomplete pass.
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top
 
JonLP24 Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Sun Dec-06-09 08:21 PM
Response to Reply #7
8. I wonder what the rule is when it comes to knee being down or fumbled
Edited on Sun Dec-06-09 08:25 PM by JonLP24
and an instant recovery. That doesn't address that so I'm not so sure. Anyways from what I seen on replays the back's left elbow was down before the ball popped loose.
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top
 
Captain Hilts Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Sun Dec-06-09 08:50 PM
Response to Original message
9. Shit. I'm in Toronto and couldn't see it. I tried to follow it online in the WP. nt
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top
 
DU AdBot (1000+ posts) Click to send private message to this author Click to view 
this author's profile Click to add 
this author to your buddy list Click to add 
this author to your Ignore list Mon Oct 23rd 2017, 06:09 PM
Response to Original message
Advertisements [?]
 Top

Home » Discuss » Topic Forums » Sports Donate to DU

Powered by DCForum+ Version 1.1 Copyright 1997-2002 DCScripts.com
Software has been extensively modified by the DU administrators


Important Notices: By participating on this discussion board, visitors agree to abide by the rules outlined on our Rules page. Messages posted on the Democratic Underground Discussion Forums are the opinions of the individuals who post them, and do not necessarily represent the opinions of Democratic Underground, LLC.

Home  |  Discussion Forums  |  Journals |  Store  |  Donate

About DU  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy

Got a message for Democratic Underground? Click here to send us a message.

© 2001 - 2011 Democratic Underground, LLC