Democratic Underground Latest Greatest Lobby Journals Search Options Help Login

How some Democrats will vote on Roberts

Printer-friendly format Printer-friendly format
Printer-friendly format Email this thread to a friend
Printer-friendly format Bookmark this thread
This topic is archived.
Home » Discuss » Archives » General Discussion: Presidential (Through Nov 2009) Donate to DU
Mass Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Wed Sep-28-05 07:54 PM
Original message
How some Democrats will vote on Roberts
Edited on Wed Sep-28-05 07:58 PM by Mass
The caucus is equally divided between support and opposition. A few big disappointments: apart Feingold (who did not really surprise me), Dorgan, Murray, Wyden, Levin, and Dodd.

How some Democrats will vote on Roberts

Associated Press

All 55 Senate Republicans are expected to vote to confirm John Roberts as chief justice of the United States on Thursday. The 44 Senate Democrats are less unified. Independent James Jeffords of Vermont will support his confirmation.

Democrats who have announced their support for Roberts (21):

Max Baucus of Montana, Jeff Bingaman of New Mexico, Robert Byrd of West Virginia, Tom Carper of Delaware, Kent Conrad of North Dakota, Christopher Dodd of Connecticut, Byron Dorgan of North Dakota, Russ Feingold of Wisconsin, Tim Johnson of South Dakota, Herb Kohl of Wisconsin, Mary Landrieu of Louisiana, Patrick Leahy of Vermont, Carl Levin of Michigan, Joseph Lieberman of Connecticut, Blanche Lincoln of Arkansas, Patty Murray of Washington, Ben Nelson of Nebraska, Bill Nelson of Florida, Mark Pryor of Arkansas, Ken Salazar of Colorado and Ron Wyden of Oregon.

Democrats who have announced their opposition (21):

Evan Bayh of Indiana, Joe Biden of Delaware, Barbara Boxer of California, Maria Cantwell of Washington, Hillary Rodham Clinton of New York, Jon Corzine of New Jersey, Mark Dayton of Minnesota, Dick Durbin of Illinois, Dianne Feinstein of California, Tom Harkin of Iowa, Daniel Inouye of Hawaii, Edward Kennedy of Massachusetts, John Kerry of Massachusetts, Frank Lautenberg of New Jersey, Barbara Mikulski of Maryland, Barack Obama of Illinois, Jack Reed of Rhode Island, Harry Reid of Nevada, Paul Sarbanes of Maryland, Charles Schumer of New York and Debbie Stabenow of Michigan.

Democrats who have not announced how they will vote (2):

Daniel Akaka of Hawaii and Jay Rockefeller of West Virginia.
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top

Home » Discuss » Archives » General Discussion: Presidential (Through Nov 2009) Donate to DU

Powered by DCForum+ Version 1.1 Copyright 1997-2002
Software has been extensively modified by the DU administrators

Important Notices: By participating on this discussion board, visitors agree to abide by the rules outlined on our Rules page. Messages posted on the Democratic Underground Discussion Forums are the opinions of the individuals who post them, and do not necessarily represent the opinions of Democratic Underground, LLC.

Home  |  Discussion Forums  |  Journals |  Store  |  Donate

About DU  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy

Got a message for Democratic Underground? Click here to send us a message.

© 2001 - 2011 Democratic Underground, LLC