Democratic Underground Latest Greatest Lobby Journals Search Options Help Login

Afghan president announces second troop transition

Printer-friendly format Printer-friendly format
Printer-friendly format Email this thread to a friend
Printer-friendly format Bookmark this thread
Home » Discuss » Latest Breaking News Donate to DU
Turborama Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Sun Nov-27-11 11:38 AM
Original message
Afghan president announces second troop transition
Source: BBC

November 27 2011 | Last updated at 15:50 GMT

Afghan President Hamid Karzai has named the provinces, cities and districts that will be handed over by Nato to Afghan control.

This second wave of transition means that half of Afghanistan is due to be controlled by its own forces.


Mr Karzai's latest announcement is part of a process that should see the Nato-led International Security Assistance Force (Isaf) leaving Afghanistan by the end of 2014.


Among the cities named is Jalalabad in the east and the volatile Ghazni, where only last month a mother and daughter were stoned and then shot by the Taliban just a few hundred metres from the local governor's office, our correspondent adds.

Read more:

Full list of areas to be handed over:

Provinces: Nimroz, Day Kundi, Samangan, Takhar and Balkh; Parwan, except Shinwari and Siahgerd districts; and Sar-e-Pul, except Sayyad district; Herat province, except for Shindand, Obe and Chishti Sharif districts.

Cities: Ghazni, provincial capital of Ghazni province; Jalalabad, provincial capital of Nangarhar, plus Beshud, Kama, Kuzhunar and Surkh Rod districts; Maidan Shah, provincial capital of Wardak province, plus Jalrez district and the Beshud area; Chaghcharan, capital of Ghor province; Shibirghan, capital of Jawzjan province.

Districts: Badghis districts of Ab Kamari and Qalay-e-Naw, which includes the provincial capital; Nadi Ali, Nawa and Marjah districts of Helmand; Qarghayee district of Laghman; Surobi district of Kabul; Shahri, Buzurg, Argo, Yaftal-e-Sufla, Faizabad, Arghanj Khwah, Baharak, Tashkan and Kishim, all in Badakhshan province.
Refresh | +2 Recommendations Printer Friendly | Permalink | Reply | Top

Home » Discuss » Latest Breaking News Donate to DU

Powered by DCForum+ Version 1.1 Copyright 1997-2002
Software has been extensively modified by the DU administrators

Important Notices: By participating on this discussion board, visitors agree to abide by the rules outlined on our Rules page. Messages posted on the Democratic Underground Discussion Forums are the opinions of the individuals who post them, and do not necessarily represent the opinions of Democratic Underground, LLC.

Home  |  Discussion Forums  |  Journals |  Store  |  Donate

About DU  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy

Got a message for Democratic Underground? Click here to send us a message.

© 2001 - 2011 Democratic Underground, LLC