You are viewing an obsolete version of the DU website which is no longer supported by the Administrators. Visit The New DU.
Democratic Underground Latest Greatest Lobby Journals Search Options Help Login

DC PROTEST TODAY: NED Awards Dinner for Anti-Cuba "democracy" Advocates [View All]

Printer-friendly format Printer-friendly format
Printer-friendly format Email this thread to a friend
Printer-friendly format Bookmark this thread
This topic is archived.
Home » Discuss » Places » Latin America Donate to DU
magbana Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Wed Jun-24-09 11:27 AM
Original message
DC PROTEST TODAY: NED Awards Dinner for Anti-Cuba "democracy" Advocates
Advertisements [?]
Edited on Wed Jun-24-09 11:42 AM by magbana
DC PROTEST TODAY, WEDNESDAY, 5-6 PM in front of the Cannon House Office Bldg., Independence and First Streets, SE, Wash., DC 20003, NED AWARDS DINNER
Take orange line to Capitol South (355 First St, SE) and walk west a few blocks until you get to Independence.

Much more fun than any happy hour, starring Jose Miguel Vivanco, Marifeli Perez-Stable and attending accomplices, Ros-Lehtinen, Mel Martinez, and Lincoln Diaz-Balart!

I also posted this to the DC list.


June 24, 2009 Wednesday



LOCATION: 345 Cannon House Office Building -- June 24, 2009 3:30 pm

SUBJECT: The National Endowment for Democracy (NED) holds a discussion, annual Democracy Award ceremony and reception to honor five Cuban democracy activists.

AGENDA: Highlights: -- 3:30 pm: Jose Azel, senior research associate at Institute for Cuban and Cu-ban-American Studies at the University of Miami; Jose Miguel Vivanco, executive director of the Americas Division at Human Rights Watch; Janisset Rivero Gutierrez, directorio of Democratico Cubano; Marifeli Perz-Stable, vice president of democratic governance at the Inter-American Dialogue; and Miriam Kornbluth, NED director of Latin America and the Caribbean, participate in a discussion examining the prospects for democracy in Cuba -- 5:30 pm: Sen. Mel Martinez, R-Fla.; House Foreign Affairs Chairman Howard Berman, D-Calif.; House Foreign Affairs ranking Republican Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen, R-Fla.; Rep. Gregory Meeks, D-N.Y., board member at NED; Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz, D-Fla.; Rep. Lincoln Diaz-Balart, R-Fla.; and former Majority Leader Richard Gephardt, D-Mo., chairman of NED, participate in the annual Democracy Award ceremony and reception.
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top

Home » Discuss » Places » Latin America Donate to DU

Powered by DCForum+ Version 1.1 Copyright 1997-2002
Software has been extensively modified by the DU administrators

Important Notices: By participating on this discussion board, visitors agree to abide by the rules outlined on our Rules page. Messages posted on the Democratic Underground Discussion Forums are the opinions of the individuals who post them, and do not necessarily represent the opinions of Democratic Underground, LLC.

Home  |  Discussion Forums  |  Journals |  Store  |  Donate

About DU  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy

Got a message for Democratic Underground? Click here to send us a message.

© 2001 - 2011 Democratic Underground, LLC