You are viewing an obsolete version of the DU website which is no longer supported by the Administrators. Visit The New DU.
Democratic Underground Latest Greatest Lobby Journals Search Options Help Login

North Dakota: 2006 Elections [View All Edits]

Printer-friendly format Printer-friendly format
Printer-friendly format Email this thread to a friend
Printer-friendly format Bookmark this thread
Home » Discuss » Archives » Research Forum Donate to DU
Open Edit Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Thu Dec-08-05 02:46 PM
Original message
North Dakota: 2006 Elections
Advertisements [?]
Edited on Thu Apr-06-06 04:17 PM by rmgustaf

North Dakota

2006 Elections: US Senator, Other Statewide Offices, US House, State Senate, State House, Ballot initiatives/Referendums

This page was edited by: rmgustaf

State Politics At-A-Glance

Population (2000 Census): 642,200 (2004 Census Bureau Estimate): 634,366
Electoral Votes: 3

:redbox: 2004 Presidential: Kerry (D) 35.50%, Bush (R) 62.86%
:redbox: 2000 Presidential: Gore (D) 33.06%, Bush (R) 60.66%, Nader (I) 3.29%
:redbox: 1996 Presidential: Clinton (D) 40.13%, Dole (R) 46.94%, Perot (I) 12.20%

:redbox: Governor: John Hoeven (R) Elected: 2004 (Next Election: 2008)
:bluebox: Senior US Senator: Kent Conrad (D) Elected: 1986, 1992 (special election), 1994, 2000 (Next Election: 2006)
:bluebox: Junior US Senator: Byron Dorgan (D) Elected: 1992, 1998, 2004 (Next Election: 2010)
:bluebox: US House (1 seat): D-1 R-0 (Earl Pomeroy (D-At Large) Elected: 1992-2004)
:redbox: State Senate (47 seats): D-15, R-32
:redbox: State House (94 seats): D-27, R-67

Election Information

Qualifications for voting (from the ND Secretary of State):

North Dakota is the only state in the country that does not require voter registration.

In order to vote in North Dakota, you must be:
  • A U.S. citizen.
  • At least 18 years old on the day of an election.
  • A legal North Dakota resident.
  • A resident in the precinct for 30 days preceding the election.

City Council/Commission Election Dates
Last Day to File Candidacy Petitions: Monday, April 17, 2006
General Election Date: Tuesday, June 13, 2006

Primary Election Dates
Last Day to File Certificate of Endorsement: Monday, April 17, 2006
State/Local Primary Date: Tuesday, June 13, 2006

General Election Dates
General Election Date (all states): November 07, 2006

(For complete details on the 2006 election calendar and voting requirements, visit

State Office in charge of Elections
Al Jaeger
Secretary of State
State of North Dakota
600 E Boulevard Ave Dept 108
Bismarck ND 58505-0500
Phone: 701-328-2900
Toll Free: 800-352-0867
Fax: 701-328-2992

State Democratic Party
David Strauss, Chair
Kennedy Center
1902 East Divide Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58501
Phone: 701-222-1371
Fax: 701-255-7823

State Republican Party
Ken Karls, Chair
PO Box 1917
Bismarck ND 58502-1917
Phone: 701-255-0030
Fax: 701-255-7513

US Senate Race 2006

Kent Conrad (D) Incumbent

Campaign Website:

Dwight Grotberg (R)

Campaign Website: N/A

Other Statewide Races 2006

Agriculture Commissioner
Roger Johnson (D), Incumbent, Campaign Website:
Doug Goehring (R), Campaign Website: /

Tax Commissioner
Brent Edison (D), Challenger, Campaign Website:
Cory Fong (R), Incumbent (appointed), Campaign Website: N/A

Attorney General
Bill Brudvik (D), Challenger, Campaign Website: N/A
Wayne Stenehjem (R), Incumbent, Campaign Website: N/A

Secretary of State
Kristin Hedger (D), Challenger, Director - Midwest Young Democrats of America, Campaign Website: N/A
Al Jaeger (R), Incumbent, Campaign Website: N/A

US House of Representatives Races 2006

ND-At Large
Earl Pomeroy (D), Incumbent, Campaign Website:
Duane DeKrey (R), Campaign Website: N/A

State Senate Races 2006

State Senate Districts: 47 (47 seats)

Seats at stake in 2006: 24

District 35
Tracy Potter (D), Challenger, Campaign Website: N/A
Margaret Sitte (R), Challenger, Campaign Website: N/A

State House Races 2006

State House Districts: 47 (94 seats)

Seats at stake in 2006: 48

District 23
Ben Vig (D), Challenger, Campaign Website: N/A
William R. Devlin (R), Incumbent, Campaign Website: N/A
Don Vigesaan (R), Incumbent, Campaign Website: N/A

District 35
Ryan Gustafson (D), Challenger, Campaign Website:
Mike Froelich (D), Challenger, Campaign Website: N/A
Karen Karls (R), Challenger, Campaign Website: N/A
Bob Martinson (R), Incumbent, Campaign Website: N/A

Ballot initiatives/Referendums

Primary Election - June 13, 2006

:graybox: Constitutional Measure 1 relating to the definition of this state's militia.
   This measure defines reserve and active militia and removes obsolete language
   in regard to age and gender in the reserve militia and removes residency requirements
   for membership in the active militia that is defined by the National Guard of
   North Dakota.
   Full Text (pdf)

:graybox: Constitutional Measure 2 relating to business corporations.
   This measure removes outdated or unnecessary provisions in the Constitution
   of North Dakota relating to business corporations and authorizes legislative assembly
   to provide by law for regulation of corporations.
   Full Text (pdf)

General Election - November 07, 2006

:graybox: Constitutional Measure 1 relating to distributions from the common schools trust fund.
   This measure requires that permanent trust funds by managed to preserve their
   purchasing power, to provide stable distributions to fund beneficiaries,
   and to benefit fund beneficiaries.
   Full Text (pdf)



Demographic Links

Democratic District Party Links

Useful Links

Refresh | 0 Recommendations Printer Friendly | Permalink | Edit | Top

Home » Discuss » Archives » Research Forum Donate to DU

Powered by DCForum+ Version 1.1 Copyright 1997-2002
Software has been extensively modified by the DU administrators

Important Notices: By participating on this discussion board, visitors agree to abide by the rules outlined on our Rules page. Messages posted on the Democratic Underground Discussion Forums are the opinions of the individuals who post them, and do not necessarily represent the opinions of Democratic Underground, LLC.

Home  |  Discussion Forums  |  Journals |  Store  |  Donate

About DU  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy

Got a message for Democratic Underground? Click here to send us a message.

© 2001 - 2011 Democratic Underground, LLC