You are viewing an obsolete version of the DU website which is no longer supported by the Administrators. Visit The New DU.
Democratic Underground Latest Greatest Lobby Journals Search Options Help Login

Reply #42: Parliamentary panel finalises Lokpal draft, 3 Congress MPs dissent [View All]

Printer-friendly format Printer-friendly format
Printer-friendly format Email this thread to a friend
Printer-friendly format Bookmark this thread
Home » Discuss » Latest Breaking News Donate to DU
xchrom Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Wed Dec-07-11 09:07 AM
Response to Reply #19
42. Parliamentary panel finalises Lokpal draft, 3 Congress MPs dissent

NEW DELHI: A parliamentary standing committee examining the Lokpal bill has finalised its draft amidst growing dissent from members, including three Congress MPs. The report is likely to be tabled in parliament on Friday, sources said.

The three congress members who dissented, asking for inclusion of group C employees under the Lokpal are Deepa Dasmunshi, PT Thomas and Meenakshi Natarajan.

Rejecting the parliamentary panel draft, Anna Hazare said the government was not serious about fighting corruption.

Panel chairman Abhishek Singhvi said the issue of bringing the prime minister under the Lokpal has been left to Parliament. He also said the many dissenting notes given by members on various issues would be reflected in the report.
Printer Friendly | Permalink | Reply | Top

Home » Discuss » Latest Breaking News Donate to DU

Powered by DCForum+ Version 1.1 Copyright 1997-2002
Software has been extensively modified by the DU administrators

Important Notices: By participating on this discussion board, visitors agree to abide by the rules outlined on our Rules page. Messages posted on the Democratic Underground Discussion Forums are the opinions of the individuals who post them, and do not necessarily represent the opinions of Democratic Underground, LLC.

Home  |  Discussion Forums  |  Journals |  Store  |  Donate

About DU  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy

Got a message for Democratic Underground? Click here to send us a message.

© 2001 - 2011 Democratic Underground, LLC