HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Forums & Groups » Main » Latest Breaking News (Forum) » United States will bar tr...

Fri Nov 26, 2021, 11:39 PM

United States will bar travelers from 8 countries in southern Africa. [View all]

Source: NYT

President Biden will restrict travel from South Africa and seven other African countries to try to contain a troubling new variant of the coronavirus, senior administration officials said on Friday, though they said it would be impossible to prevent it from entering the United States.

Starting on Monday, the administration will prohibit travelers from South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique and Malawi from coming to the United States, the officials said.

The travel ban will not apply to American citizens or lawful permanent residents, officials said. But they will need to show a negative coronavirus test before coming to the United States.

Read more: https://www.nytimes.com/2021/11/26/world/americas/us-travel-restrictions-new-covid-variant-omicron.html

Buckle up folks. Get a clean stack of masks. Make sure your booster is up to date. Stock up.

11 replies, 1847 views

Reply to this thread

Back to top Alert abuse

Always highlight: 10 newest replies | Replies posted after I mark a forum
Replies to this discussion thread
Arrow 11 replies Author Time Post
Reply United States will bar travelers from 8 countries in southern Africa. [View all]
cadoman Nov 2021 OP
lapfog_1 Nov 2021 #1
regnaD kciN Nov 2021 #3
lapfog_1 Nov 2021 #4
olegramps Nov 2021 #11
regnaD kciN Nov 2021 #2
madville Nov 2021 #9
Timewas Nov 2021 #5
manicdem Nov 2021 #6
madville Nov 2021 #8
Bengus81 Nov 2021 #7
Roisin Ni Fiachra Nov 2021 #10