HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Forums & Groups » Topics » Science » Science (Group) » The 'ring of fire' solar ...

Fri Jun 19, 2020, 03:24 PM

The 'ring of fire' solar eclipse of 2020 occurs Sunday. Here's how to watch online.


By Elizabeth Howell 5 hours ago

A "ring of fire" solar eclipse will briefly appear in parts of Africa and Asia this weekend, and if you aren't out there in person, you can take in the spectacular show online.

Sunday's solar eclipse is what is known as an annular eclipse, in which the moon does not completely cover the sun as it passes between the star and Earth as seen from our planet. Instead, a ring of sunlight will still shine around the outer edge, hence its nickname: a "ring of fire" eclipse.

The time of maximum eclipse, when that "ring of fire" event happens, will be at 2:40 a.m. EDT (0640 GMT) Sunday, June 21, when the moon crosses into the center of the sphere of the sun, from Earth's perspective. The eclipse starts at 11:45 p.m. EDT Saturday, June 20 (0345 GMT Sunday) and ends at 5:34 a.m. EDT (1034 GMT) June 20, according to NASA.

The time of maximum eclipse, when that "ring of fire" event happens, will be at 2:40 a.m. EDT (0640 GMT) Sunday, June 21, when the moon crosses into the center of the sphere of the sun, from Earth's perspective. The eclipse starts at 11:45 p.m. EDT Saturday, June 20 (0345 GMT Sunday) and ends at 5:34 a.m. EDT (1034 GMT) June 20, according to NASA.

More:
https://mail.yahoo.com/d/folders/1/messages/AGFYk998xCuMXu0LhQbGYFxifOs?.src=fp

1 replies, 551 views

Reply to this thread

Back to top Alert abuse

Always highlight: 10 newest replies | Replies posted after I mark a forum
Replies to this discussion thread
Arrow 1 replies Author Time Post
Reply The 'ring of fire' solar eclipse of 2020 occurs Sunday. Here's how to watch online. (Original post)
Judi Lynn Jun 19 OP
ramblin_dave Jun 19 #1

Response to Judi Lynn (Original post)

Fri Jun 19, 2020, 03:48 PM

1. Your link is to Yahoo mail

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink

Reply to this thread