HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Forums & Groups » Topics » Science » Science (Group) » How to Watch the 2019 Per...

Sun Aug 11, 2019, 08:56 PM

How to Watch the 2019 Perseid Meteor Shower Live Online



By Elizabeth Howell 2 days ago

Astronomy broadcaster Slooh will stream a live webcast of the Perseids on Monday (Aug. 12) at 9 p.m. EDT (0100 GMT Aug. 13), showing off the shower from telescopes in North America, the Middle East and Europe. Live coverage is available here at Space.com, courtesy of Slooh, or at Slooh's website for a fee (annual memberships start at $20).

"The Perseids Meteor Shower is a favorite for many stargazers because it has more bright meteors than most showers sometimes as many as 50-60 per hour under ideal conditions," Slooh said in a statement. As for the glaring moon, Slooh offered a solution: "Slooh's special low-light video cameras will also detect fainter meteors even against the bright moonlight."

In addition to the livestream, host and astrophysicist Paige Godfrey will have a team of astronomical experts online to discuss the science of comets and meteor showers, as well as their history. Aspiring astrophotographers will get some hints on how to get the best shot of the meteors. Viewers can ask questions using the hashtag #AskSlooh.

Alternatively, you can check out the peak of the Perseids a little earlier on Monday at the Virtual Telescope Project, starting at 6 p.m. EDT (2200 GMT). Led by astrophysicist Gianluca Masi, the project pledges to "share the view of our wide field cameras, to show any potential meteor they will capture."

More:
https://www.space.com/perseid-meteor-shower-2019-webcasts.html

0 replies, 809 views

Reply to this thread

Back to top Alert abuse

Reply to this thread