HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Forums & Groups » Topics » Reading & Writing » Fiction (Group) » Has anyone read "Undergro...

Mon Apr 16, 2018, 05:20 PM

Has anyone read "Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead?

Last edited Mon Apr 16, 2018, 10:41 PM - Edit history (1)

It was hard to take in places, although I couldn't put it down. I want to read everything he's written now. Highly recommend.

12 replies, 526 views

Reply to this thread

Back to top Alert abuse

Always highlight: 10 newest replies | Replies posted after I mark a forum
Replies to this discussion thread
Arrow 12 replies Author Time Post
Reply Has anyone read "Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead? (Original post)
Laffy Kat Apr 2018 OP
Ohiogal Apr 2018 #1
Dream Girl Apr 2018 #2
Laffy Kat Apr 2018 #3
Ninga Apr 2018 #4
PoindexterOglethorpe Apr 2018 #5
Laffy Kat Apr 2018 #6
PoindexterOglethorpe Apr 2018 #7
northoftheborder Apr 2018 #8
Cuthbert Allgood Apr 2018 #9
Paladin May 2018 #10
FSogol Jun 2018 #11
japple Jun 2018 #12

Response to Laffy Kat (Original post)

Mon Apr 16, 2018, 05:29 PM

1. It's on my "to read" list! Thank you for the recommendation!

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to Laffy Kat (Original post)

Mon Apr 16, 2018, 05:32 PM

2. I did the audible version. Great book but as you said hard to take in places.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to Dream Girl (Reply #2)

Mon Apr 16, 2018, 05:35 PM

3. Yes, and I knew it would be.

That is why I usually avoid books about the Holocaust or slavery, as I end up with six weeks of psychotherapy, but I got through it and am glad I did.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to Laffy Kat (Original post)

Mon Apr 16, 2018, 05:57 PM

4. StunnIng take on the Underground Railroad. I highly recommend.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to Laffy Kat (Original post)

Mon Apr 16, 2018, 10:25 PM

5. Yes, and it's excellent.

And it's Colson Whitehead, not Colton Whitehead.

I do need to get around to reading some of his other books.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to PoindexterOglethorpe (Reply #5)

Mon Apr 16, 2018, 10:42 PM

6. Thanks for the correction.

I just got his novel, "Zone One". It's about zombies (a guilty pleasure).

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to Laffy Kat (Reply #6)

Mon Apr 16, 2018, 11:43 PM

7. I tend to avoid novels about zombies, so let me know (via PM if possible)

what you think of it.

Several years ago I picked up The Girl With All the Gifts and was at least half-way through before I realized it was really a zombie novel. but it was so good I finished it. Which was a good lesson in why prejudices are so bad and so limiting.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to Laffy Kat (Original post)

Tue Apr 17, 2018, 12:44 PM

8. I Liked Underground Railroad, and the story telling method.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to Laffy Kat (Original post)

Tue Apr 17, 2018, 03:57 PM

9. I did. Loved it.

The metaphor of an actual railroad was brilliant. The characters were great. Totally understand why it won the Pulitzer. Did some really cool new stuff with narrative structure.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to Laffy Kat (Original post)

Sun May 20, 2018, 12:58 PM

10. Excellent novel. Recommended. (nt)

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to Laffy Kat (Original post)

Sat Jun 2, 2018, 09:06 PM

11. I have. Great, powerful novel. I enjoy all of his books.

My favorite is probably "Apex Hides the Hurt" about an ad exec who ignores what is important.
"Zone One" is great too, a horror novel in the vein of Shelly's Frankenstein or Stoker's Dracula, this is about the aftermath of a zombie apocalypse, where the govt is trying to restore control, but soon falls into predictable habits.

Great author.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to Laffy Kat (Original post)

Sun Jun 3, 2018, 07:49 PM

12. Yes, I read it. Loved the novel approach even though it was harrowing

at several points. I read that Barry Jenkins is making a limited drama series based on The Underground Railroad. Barry Jenkins wrote & directed the movie, Moonlight which won Oscars and is one of the most brilliant films I've seen recently.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink

Reply to this thread