HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Forums & Groups » Topics » Environment & Energy » Environment & Energy (Group) » Countries opposed to EU c...

Thu Aug 2, 2012, 08:39 AM

Countries opposed to EU carbon charge for airlines fail to find an alternative

A two-day meeting hosted the by US of 17 countries opposed to the EU's emissions trading system (ETS) has ended without a joint declaration.

The countries, however, reaffirmed their ambition to keep working on an alternative framework to address greenhouse gas emissions under UN's International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO). They remain opposed to an EU law that forces their airlines to pay for the carbon they emit on flights to and from Europe.

"The meeting confirmed strong opposition to the ETS, but indicated interest in continuing to work on the suite of activities in ICAO," a senior US official said on Wednesday. US, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, India, Japan, South Korea, Mexico, Nigeria, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa and the United Arab Emirates are opposed to EU's so-called carbon tax.

The countries plan to implement the goals and actions agreed at the 2010 ICAO assembly. These include a voluntary target to cap net carbon emissions by 2020, national action plans, improving air traffic management, and adopting an emissions standard for aircraft.


0 replies, 517 views

Reply to this thread

Back to top Alert abuse

Reply to this thread