HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Forums & Groups » Topics » Computers & Internet » Computer Help and Support (Group) » A dumb Chrome ? even thei...

Sat Aug 23, 2014, 12:29 AM

A dumb Chrome ? even their own groups haven't answered in a week:

I know somebody HERE can answer me. My own research fell short.

When I synch my chrome bookmarks, is the job then done and into the future as well? Or must I re-sync new batches periodically?

I don't think Google Drive has anything to do with this, does it?

2 replies, 1264 views

Reply to this thread

Back to top Alert abuse

Always highlight: 10 newest replies | Replies posted after I mark a forum
Replies to this discussion thread
Arrow 2 replies Author Time Post
Reply A dumb Chrome ? even their own groups haven't answered in a week: (Original post)
IrishAyes Aug 2014 OP
teach1st Aug 2014 #1
IrishAyes Aug 2014 #2

Response to IrishAyes (Original post)

Sat Aug 23, 2014, 12:01 PM

1. Chrome bookmarks synch to the latest change

Chrome bookmarks are synched to the latest change. I often have ten or more linked Chrome browsers running at the same time in the classroom. If I delete a bookmark on any of the browsers, all of the browsers have that bookmark deleted. If I add a bookmark on any of the browsers, the new bookmark is added to all of the browsers.

This can be confusing when Chrome browsers are synched and then a long-dormant, but synched Chrome browser is opened. Usually, if that browser has bookmarks that were deleted in synch, the bookmarks will be added again to all browsers.

Lots of us have asked that Chrome provide an option to create a "master" browser, to which all other browsers synch, but so far the Chrome people don't think that's needed.

Did that address your question?

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to teach1st (Reply #1)

Sat Aug 23, 2014, 07:15 PM

2. Yes, it did, thank you.

I understood about syncing in the original but felt uncertain whether sync had to be reset every time new bookmarks were added. So apparently once it's toggled on, it stays toggled on until instructed otherwise. That's a great relief, especially since I can't check it over a series of computers myself. I'm lucky to keep one old rattletrap shuffling along.

I agree, a master browser would be cool.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink

Reply to this thread