HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Forums & Groups » Main » General Discussion (Forum) » Is this a scam from Faceb...

Mon Jul 9, 2012, 12:48 AM

Is this a scam from Facebook?

Your Facebook account was recently logged into from a computer, mobile device or other location you've never used before. For your protection, we've temporarily locked your account until you can review this activity and make sure no one is using your account without your permission.

Did you log into Facebook from a new device or an unusual location?

- If this was not you, please log into Facebook from your computer and follow the instructions provided to help you control your account information.

- If this was you, there's no need to worry. Simply log into Facebook again to get back into your account.

17 replies, 22557 views

Reply to this thread

Back to top Alert abuse

Always highlight: 10 newest replies | Replies posted after I mark a forum
Replies to this discussion thread
Arrow 17 replies Author Time Post
Reply Is this a scam from Facebook? (Original post)
angstlessk Jul 2012 OP
ScreamingMeemie Jul 2012 #1
SoutherDem Jul 2012 #2
DavidDvorkin Jul 2012 #3
ChoppinBroccoli Jul 2012 #4
Atman Jul 2012 #14
GoCubsGo Jul 2012 #15
Festivito Jul 2012 #5
tammywammy Jul 2012 #6
pinboy3niner Jul 2012 #7
MiniMe Jul 2012 #8
jillan Jul 2012 #9
Kali Jul 2012 #10
bluedigger Jul 2012 #11
LineNew Reply .
baldguy Jul 2012 #12
customerserviceguy Jul 2012 #13
hobbit709 Jul 2012 #16
angstlessk Jul 2012 #17

Response to angstlessk (Original post)

Mon Jul 9, 2012, 12:54 AM

1. I have gotten this message when I've logged into facebook at a friend's home.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to angstlessk (Original post)

Mon Jul 9, 2012, 12:54 AM

2. This sounds like a safe guard.

I don't know about Facebook, but I have had other accounts send me similar emails. This usually happens when I logged in to the account from a new computer or from a friends computer.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to angstlessk (Original post)

Mon Jul 9, 2012, 12:55 AM

3. This is real

It's a safeguard.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to angstlessk (Original post)

Mon Jul 9, 2012, 01:03 AM

4. It Could Be A Scam

If you got this message as an e-mail and it contains a "handy" link you're supposed to click to take you to your Facebook login page, don't click it. Go to Facebook directly. Pretty much every time I get a message like this, it's completely false and nothing is wrong with my login/account. It's usually just somebody trying to steal your login information.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to ChoppinBroccoli (Reply #4)

Mon Jul 9, 2012, 07:59 AM

14. It's nothing like that. It's legit.

People tend to log into FB from all sorts of various devices. I have an iPhone, iPad, desktop Mac and work computer. This is merely a message when you log in that FB doesn't recognize the device you used to log in. It asked you only to supply a name -- any name, it could be Fred -- which you will recognize in a confirmation email to the addy you gave FB when you opened your account.

You aren't asked to click on anything. FB simply sends an email, just as it says it would, saying basically "Someone just logged into your account using a device named Fred." The email provides time and date of login, including the ip address used at the time. Yes, there is a link to contact FB it wasn't you, but you can (and should) still follow the usual c&p procedure for following email links.

IOW, the email directly relates to specific a activity at a specific time and place which only FB would know and only you can verify. It would be pretty damned tough for an email scammer to pull that one off!

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to Atman (Reply #14)

Mon Jul 9, 2012, 08:07 AM

15. Yes, and...

If you clear the cookies and/or cache on a machine you regularly use, you'll get that message.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to angstlessk (Original post)

Mon Jul 9, 2012, 01:08 AM

5. I've seen this happen before. You logged onto facebook?

It's not an email. If it is an email, 99% sure it's a scam.

Your password may be too hackable. Are you using non-repetitive numbers with letters.

Good luck.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to angstlessk (Original post)

Mon Jul 9, 2012, 01:12 AM

6. I get this if I log in from not my usual computer.

Like if I log in from a friend's computer. It's a Facebook safeguard.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to angstlessk (Original post)

Mon Jul 9, 2012, 01:16 AM

7. I'm not saying...



Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to angstlessk (Original post)

Mon Jul 9, 2012, 01:17 AM

8. Don't trust any links from what you got, if it asks you to click on a link...

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to angstlessk (Original post)

Mon Jul 9, 2012, 01:17 AM

9. That happened to me once. I had logged on to fb while on vacation.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to angstlessk (Original post)

Mon Jul 9, 2012, 01:19 AM

10. facebook IS a scam

but yeah, what they said upthread

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to angstlessk (Original post)

Mon Jul 9, 2012, 01:22 AM

11. I had that once. You may have been hacked.

The message was legit - someone took over my account. You better check your shit.

eta: They were messaging my friends telling them I was stranded in London - send money. Change all your passwords, including email.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to angstlessk (Original post)

Mon Jul 9, 2012, 06:54 AM

12. .

 

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to baldguy (Reply #12)

Mon Jul 9, 2012, 07:27 AM

13. Love that cartoon!

I've always said that all the "free" crap on the Internet is just a way for them to slip the ring through your nose, that cartoon tells the story even better than my wordy explanations.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to angstlessk (Original post)

Mon Jul 9, 2012, 08:16 AM

16. did it address you by name?

If it used your name it's probably legit. If it started out "Dear Valued customer" or some such variation, it most likely isn't.
Even if legit, I wouldn't use the link in the email but go directly to the website.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to angstlessk (Original post)

Thu Jul 12, 2012, 03:05 PM

17. Thanks all, I don't use Facebook all that much, and read all your posts and decided to sign in

Turns out someone on and iPad from Bangkok tried to sign into my Facebook..we also recently got our debit card stolen from some online business on which we used it? And one charge was in Bangkok..One from the UK and two from Zayles Jewlers?

They had me change my password..and this time I made sure it was 'strong'.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink

Reply to this thread