HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Forums & Groups » Main » General Discussion (Forum) » Need letters/calls RE: Ke...

Tue Feb 11, 2020, 10:58 AM

Need letters/calls RE: Keystone Protestors


TOMORROW the South Dakota House of State Affairs Committee will vote on bringing HB1117 forward to the House of Representatives for a vote. We need you to call committee members TODAY

Just after TC Energy (formerly TransCanada) announced they would begin construction on the Keystone XL pipeline, South Dakota Governor Kristi Noem filled her revised anti-protest bill.

South Dakota HB1117 is aimed at silencing Indigenous voices who have been protecting South Dakota’s land, sky and water for a decade from the Keystone XL pipeline.
We need you to call the South Dakota House State of Affairs committee members today and demand the vote NO on HB 1117.

You can also send an email by clicking the link below


Their phone numbers listed on the South Dakota Legislature’s website are provided below along with a sample phone script.


Hello, I would like to leave a message for Representative __________,

My name is _______ and I would like the Representative to VOTE NO on HB 1117 in the House State Affairs Committee. HB1117 is targeting vulnerable communities impacted by climate change. As fires rage across the world and we see increased migration rates due to climate chaos refugees, it’s critical that our elected officials protect our natural resources. They should aid those who seek to protect resources and penalize polluters who poison our water, land and sky.
According to the U.S Environmental Protection Agency, in the past century, most of the state has warmed by one to two degrees. Climate change will directly impact South Dakota’s agriculture, city planning, and development as well as the tourism industry.

Please tell the Representative to VOTE NO on HB 1117.


Committee Chair
Lee Qualm

Committee Vice Chair
Arch Beal

David Anderson

Drew Dennert

Michael G. Diedrich

Tim Goodwin

Spencer Gosch

Jon Hansen

Steven Haugaard

Kevin Jensen

Steven McCleerey

Kent Peterson

Jamie Smith

0 replies, 166 views

Reply to this thread

Back to top Alert abuse

Reply to this thread