You are viewing an obsolete version of the DU website which is no longer supported by the Administrators. Visit The New DU.
Democratic Underground Latest Greatest Lobby Journals Search Options Help Login
Google

Washington: 2006 Elections [List Edits]

Printer-friendly format Printer-friendly format
Printer-friendly format Email this thread to a friend
Printer-friendly format Bookmark this thread
Home » Discuss » Archives » Research Forum Donate to DU
 
Open Edit Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Thu Dec-08-05 03:12 PM
Original message
Washington: 2006 Elections
Edited on Sat Oct-28-06 12:26 AM by kurtyboy


Washington

2006 Elections: Governor, US Senator, Other Statewide Offices, US House, State Senate, State House, Ballot initiatives/Referendums

This page was edited by: DinoBoy

State Politics At-A-Glance


Population: (2000 Census) 5,987,973; (2004 Estimate) 6,203,788
Electoral Votes: 11

:bluebox: 2004 Presidential: Kerry (D) 52.8%, Bush (R) 45.6%
:bluebox: 2000 Presidential: Gore (D) 50.1%, Bush (R) 44.6%, Nader (I) 4.1%
:bluebox: 1996 Presidential: Clinton (D) 49.8%, Dole (R) 37.3%, Perot (I) 8.9%

:bluebox: Governor: Christine Gregoire (D) Elected: 2004 (Next Election: 2008)
:bluebox: Senior US Senator: Patty Murray (D) Elected: 1992, 1998, 2004 (Next Election: 2010)
:bluebox: Junior US Senator: Maria Cantwell (D) Elected: 2000 (Next Election: 2006)
:bluebox: US House (9 seats): D-6, R-3
:bluebox: State Senate (49 seats): D-26, R-23
:bluebox: State House (98 seats): D-55, R-43

Election Information


General Election Dates
Voter Registration Deadline for General Election: October 07, 2006 (EXCEPT in person w/ County Auditor--October 23rd)
General Election Date (all states): November 07, 2006

State Office in charge of Elections
Washington Secretary of State
Elections Division
PO Box 40229
Olympia, WA 98504-0229
Phone: (360) 902-4180 / 1-800-448-4881
Email: elections@secstate.wa.gov
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/elections

State Democratic Party
Washington State Democratic Central Committee
PO Box 4027
616 First Avenue, Suite 300
Seattle WA 98194
Telephone: (206) 583-0664
Fax: (206) 583-0301
Email: info@wa-democrats.org
http://www.wa-democrats.org

State Republican Party
Washington State Republican Party
16400 Southcenter Parkway, Suite 200
Seattle, WA 98188
Phone: (206) 575-2900
Fax: (206) 575-1730
Email: comments@wsrp.org
http://www.wsrp.org

Governor's Race 2006


No Governor's Race in 2006

US Senate Race 2006


(FEC numbers up to date through 8/31/2006)

Maria Cantwell (D) Incumbent FEC: $12,694,604 ($--- On Hand)
Campaign Website: http://www.cantwell.com

Mike McGavick (R) FEC: $8,621,136 ($--- On Hand)
Former Insurance Corporation CEO
Campaign Website: http://www.mikemcgavick.com

Bruce Guthrie (Lib) FEC: $1,237,687 ($--- On Hand)
University Teaching Assistant
Campaign Website: http://www.bruceguthrie.com

Aaron Dixon (Grn) FEC: $62,721 ($--- On Hand)
Former Black Panther Party Activist & Non-Profit Group Founder
Campaign Website: http://www.dixon4senate.com

Robin Adair (Ind) FEC: $16,175 ($--- On Hand)

Other Statewide Races 2006


PDC numbers reflect September 11, 2006 PDC Summaries

State Supreme Court Justice Position #2
Susan Owens (Incumbent)(NonPartisan) PDC $165,408 (On Hand $86,265)
Stephen Johnson (NonPartisan) PDC $208,208 (On Hand $29,645)

Great Info page for judicial races

US House of Representatives Races 2006


US House Districts: 9

Key Races:
:bluebox: 08 Dave Reichart (R) (incumbent) v. Darcy Burner (D)
:bluebox: 05 Cathy McMorris (R) (incumbent) v. Peter Goldmark (D)



Candidates, by Congressional District (FEC numbers up to date through 8/31/2006)

WA-01
Jay Inslee (D), Incumbent, Campaign Website: http://www.jayinslee.com FEC: $741,013 ($--- On Hand)
Larry Ishmael (R), Campaign Website: http://www.larryishmael.com / FEC: $24,338 (On Hand $---)

WA-02
Rick Larsen (D), Incumbent, Campaign Website: http://www.ricklarsen.org FEC: $1,282,127 ($--- On Hand)
Doug Roulstone (R), Campaign Website: http://www.roulstone4congress.com FEC: $672,340 ($--- On Hand)

WA-03
Brian Baird (D), Incumbent, Campaign Website: http://www.brianbaird.com FEC: $731,685 ($--- On Hand)
Michael Messmore (R), Campaign Website: http://www.messmoreforcongress.com FEC: $119,304 ($--- On Hand)

WA-04
Richard Wright (D), Campaign Website: http://www.wright06.com FEC: $242,316 ($--- On Hand)
Doc Hastings (R), Incumbent, Campaign Website: http://www.dochastingsforcongress.com FEC: $540,762 ($--- On Hand)

WA-05
Peter Goldmark (D), Campaign Website: http://www.petergoldmark.com FEC: $737,788 ($--- On Hand)
Cathy McMorris (R), Incumbent, Campaign Website: http://www.mcmorrisforcongress.com FEC: $1,489,811 ($--- On Hand)

WA-06
Norm Dicks (D), Incumbent, Campaign Website: http://www.normdicks.com FEC: $906,646 ($--- On Hand)
Doug Cloud (R) Campaign Website: http://www.dougcloud.com / {no FEC report}

WA-07
Jim McDermott (D), Incumbent, Campaign Website: http://www.mcdermotforcongress.com FEC: $843,091 ($--- On Hand)
Steve Beren (R), Campaign Website: http://www.steveberen.com FEC: $16,356 ($--- On Hand)
Linnea Noreen (Ind) Campaign Website: http://www.votelinnea.com FEC: $62,841 ($--- On Hand)

WA-08
Darcy Burner (D), Campaign Website: http://www.darcyburner.com FEC: $2,412,585 ($--- On Hand)
Dave Reichert (R), Incumbent, Campaign Website: http://www.davereichertforcongress.com FEC: $2,474,432 ($--- On Hand)

WA-09
Adam Smith (D), Incumbent, Campaign Website: http://www.electadamsmith.com FEC: $698,176 ($--- On Hand)
Steve Cofchin (R), Campaign Website: http://www.cofchinforcongress.com FEC: $38,898 ($--- On Hand)


State Senate Races 2006


The Moderate Washingtonian (A pretty reasonable rundown of the races--used as primary source here--Kurtyboy)

State Senate Districts: 49

Seats at stake in 2006: 24.
Unopposed incumbent GOP: District 8.
Unopposed incumbent DEM: Districts 21, 29, 34, 36, 37, and 38.
Others up for election: Districts 6, 7, 13(Open Seat), 15, 26(Open), 30, 31, 32, 33, 35, 42, 43(Open), 44, 45(Open), 46, 47(Open), and 48.

Key Races (somewhat competitive):
Leaning GOP (4 races):


District 31 Map
Yvonne Ward (D) Web: http://www.yvonneward.com /
Pam Roach (R) Incumbent Web:

District 42
Map
Jesse Salomon (D) Web: http://www.votejesse.com /
Dale Brandland (R) Incumbent Web:

District 44 Map
Steve Hobbs (D) Web: http://www.electhobbs.com /
Dave Schmidt (R) Incumbent Web: http://www.daveschmidt.org /

District 45 Map Open Seat
Eric Oemig (D) Web: http://www.voteeric.com /
Toby Nixon (R) Web: http://www.tobynixon.com /

Leaning Dem (5 races):

District 6 Map
Chris Marr (D) Web: http://www.votechrismarr.com /
Brad Bensen (R) Incumbent Web:

District 26 Map Open Seat
Derek Kilmer (D) Web: http://www.derekkilmer.com/main /
Jim Hines (R) Web: http://www.hinesforsenate.com /

District 30 Map
Tracey Eide (D) Incumbent Web: http://www.traceyeide.com /
Renee Maher (R) Web: http://www.reneemaher.com /

District 47 Map Open Seat
Claudia Kauffman (D) Web: http://www.claudiaforsenate.com /
Mike Riley (R) Web: http://www.riley4senate.com /

District 48 Map
Rodney Tom (D) Web: http://www.rodneytom.org /
Luke Esser (R) Incumbent Web: http://www.lukeesser.com /


State House Races 2006


State House Seats: 98 (Same 49 districts as Senate, with two House seats, or positions, per District)

Seats at stake in 2006: ALL. District(Position)
Unopposed GOP--Districts 4(1), 5(1), 5(2), 7(2), 8(1), 8(2), 9(2), 10(1), 12(1), 12(2), 13(2), 20(2), 39(2).
Unopposed Dem--Districts 3(2), 11(1), 21(1), 21(2), 22(1), 24(2), 29(1), 29(2), 33(2), 34(1), 36(1), 36(2), 37(1), 38(2), 40(2), 46(1), 46(2).
GOP-only Primary--13(1).
Dem-only Primary--1(1).

Key Races (somewhat competitive):
GOP Leaning (8 races)
:

District 6(1) Map
Don Barlow (D) Web: http://www.electdonbarlow.com /
John Serben (R) Incumbent Web: http://www.electjohnserben.org /

District 14(2) Map Open Seat
Ron Bonlender (D) Web:
Charlie Ross (R) Web:

District 28(1) MapOpen Seat
Troy Kelly (D) Web: http://www.troykelley.com /
Don Anderson (R) Web: http://www.donanderson.org /

District 31(1) Map
Karen Willard (D) Web: http://electkarenwillard.com /
Dan Roach (R) Incumbent Web:

District 31(2) Map
Christopher Hurst (D) Web: http://www.christopherhurst.org /
Jan Shabro (R) Incumbent Web: http://www.janshabro.org /

District 42(1) Map
Jasper McSlarrow (D) Web: http://www.votejasper.com /
Doug Ericksen (R) Incumbent Web: http://www.dougericksen.com /

District 45(1) Map Open Seat
Roger Goodman (D) Web: http://www.voterogergoodman.com /
Jeffrey Possinger (R) http://www.jeffreypossinger.com /

District 48(2) MapOpen Seat
Deborah Eddy (D) Web: http://debeddy.net /
Bret Olson (R) Web: http://www.bretolson.com /

Dem Leaning (13 races):

District 17(1) Map
Patrick Campbell (D) Web:
Jim Dunn (R) Incumbent Web:

District 17(2) Map
Deb Wallace (D) Incumbent Web: http://www.votedebwallace.org /
Paul Harris (R) Web:

District 23(2) Map
Christine Rolfes (D) Web: http://www.electchristine.com /
Beverly Woods (R) Incumbent Web: http://www.bevwoods.com /

District 24(1) Map
Kevin Van De Wege (D) Web: http://www.kevinvandewege.com /
Jim Buck (R) Incumbent Web:

District 26(1) Map
Patricia Lantz (D) Incumbent Web: http://www.votepatlantz.com /
Beckie Krantz (R) Web: http://www.beckiekrantz.com /

District 26(2) Map Open Seat
Larry Seaquist (D) Web: http://www.electlarryseaquist.com /
Ron Boehme (R) Web: http://www.ronboehme.com /

District 28(2) Map
Tami Green (D) Incumbent Web: http://www.tamigreen.com /
Bob Lawrence (R) Web: http://www.boblawrence.net /

District 35(2) Map
Kathy Haigh (D) Incumbent Web:
Marco Brown (R) Web:

District 38(1) Map
Jon McCoy (D) Incumbent Web:
Kimberly Halvorson (R) Web: http://www.electkim.org /

District 44(1) Map
Hans Dunshee (D) Incumbent Web: http://www.hansdunshee.com /
Mike Hope (R) Web: http://www.electmikehope.com /

District 45(2) Map
Larry Springer (D) Incumbent Web:
Tim Lee (R) Web: http://www.leeforhouse.com /

District 47(1) Map
Geoff Simpson (D) Incumbent Web:
Donna Watts (R) Web: http://www.donnawatts.org /

District 47(2) Map
Patrick Sullivan (D) Incumbent Web: http://www.votepatsullivan.com /
Andrew Franz (R) Web: http://andrewfranz.org /


Ballot initiatives/Referendums


Initiative Measure No. 920
ESTATE TAX

Initiative Objective: This measure would repeal Washington’s state laws imposing tax, currently dedicated for the education legacy trust fund, on transfers of estates of persons dying on or after the effective date of this measure.Full Text (.pdf)
Status: VERIFIED--Will be on the November ballot
Links: Committee to Abolish the Estate Tax (Pro)
Washington Defense (Con)
Northwest Progressive Institute (Con)

Initiative Measure No. 933
GOVERNMENT REGULATION OF PRIVATE PROPERTY

Initiative Objective: This measure would require compensation when government regulation damages the use or value of private property, would forbid regulations that prohibit existing legal uses of private property, and would provide exceptions or payments. Full Text (.pdf)
Status: VERIFIED--Will be on the November ballot
Links:Property Fairness Coalition (Pro)
No On Initiative 933 (Con)
American Planning Association, Washington Chapter (Con)
The Nature Conservancy (Con)
Land Use Watch (Con)
Friends of the Columbia Gorge (Con)

Initiative Measure No. 937
ENERGY RESOURCE USE BY CERTAIN WASHINGTON UTILITIES

Initiative Objective: This measure would require certain electric utilities with 25,000 or more customers to meet certain targets for energy conservation and use of renewable energy resources, as defined, including energy credits, or pay penalties. Full Text (.pdf)
Status: VERIFIED--Will be on the November ballot
Links:Washington Association of Churches (Pro)
Washington Public INterest Research Group (Pro)
Association of Washington Businesses (Con)

Links


Blogs
Democratic Underground Washington Forum
LeftyBlogs.com Washington
McCranium - E. Washington
WashBlog - Washington
On The Road To 2008 - Washington
HorsesAss.org - Washington
David Postman at the Seattle Times

Demographic Links
U.S. Census Bureau Washington Quick Facts

Campaign Contribution Reporting/Tracking Links
Washington Public Disclosure Commission
Federal Elections Commission
Open Secrets

Refresh | 0 Recommendations Printer Friendly | Permalink | Edit | Top

Home » Discuss » Archives » Research Forum Donate to DU

Powered by DCForum+ Version 1.1 Copyright 1997-2002 DCScripts.com
Software has been extensively modified by the DU administrators


Important Notices: By participating on this discussion board, visitors agree to abide by the rules outlined on our Rules page. Messages posted on the Democratic Underground Discussion Forums are the opinions of the individuals who post them, and do not necessarily represent the opinions of Democratic Underground, LLC.

Home  |  Discussion Forums  |  Journals |  Store  |  Donate

About DU  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy

Got a message for Democratic Underground? Click here to send us a message.

© 2001 - 2011 Democratic Underground, LLC