Democratic Underground Latest Greatest Lobby Journals Search Options Help Login
Google

In 8-ball (billiards) what happens if you sink a solid AND a stripe on

Printer-friendly format Printer-friendly format
Printer-friendly format Email this thread to a friend
Printer-friendly format Bookmark this thread
This topic is archived.
Home » Discuss » The DU Lounge Donate to DU
 
bertha katzenengel Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Wed Sep-28-05 09:04 AM
Original message
In 8-ball (billiards) what happens if you sink a solid AND a stripe on
the break?
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top
bbernardini Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Wed Sep-28-05 09:11 AM
Response to Original message
1. You open up the gates of Hell.
So be careful!
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top
 
kick-ass-bob Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Wed Sep-28-05 09:12 AM
Response to Original message
2. you get to choose which you are going to play.
then, I think it is the other person's turn.
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top
 
wildhorses Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Wed Sep-28-05 09:12 AM
Response to Original message
3. it is your choice
Edited on Wed Sep-28-05 09:13 AM by wildhorses
so look the table over carefully. on edit:it is still your shot
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top
 
bridgit Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Wed Sep-28-05 09:13 AM
Response to Original message
4. your choice...
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top
 
chknltl Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Wed Sep-28-05 09:16 AM
Response to Original message
5. billiards does not have solids and stripes
I believe, in billiards there are 2 red balls and a white one. See I can be a know-it-all! Everyone hates a know-it-all so I will stop. In answer to your questions most games popularly known as 8-ball allow the person who breaks a solid and a stripe another shot on an open table.
In some rules, BCA (Billiards Congress of America), the table remains open until a called ball is pocketed, regardless of what is made on the break.
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top
 
Nicholas D Wolfwood Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Wed Sep-28-05 09:17 AM
Response to Original message
6. Same as after any other break - it's still an open table
http://www.bca-pool.com/play/tournaments/rules/rls_8bl....
4.10 CHOICE OF GROUP
The choice of stripes or solids is not determined on the break even if balls are made from only one or both groups, because the table is always open immediately after the break shot. The choice of group is determined only when a player legally pockets a called object ball after the break shot.
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top
 
kick-ass-bob Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Wed Sep-28-05 09:19 AM
Response to Reply #6
8. official rules SUCK!
:7

Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top
 
XNASA Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Wed Sep-28-05 09:17 AM
Response to Original message
7. It's not your 'choice'. The correct ruling is the table is still open.
The person who broke gets to shoot again at whatever they want, but...

Technically the table is still open and would remain open if the second shot is missed.
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top
 
bridgit Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Wed Sep-28-05 09:20 AM
Response to Reply #7
9. oh, well, fine then; i suppose i have to call AND bank the 8-ball...
:eyes:
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top
 
XNASA Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Wed Sep-28-05 09:22 AM
Response to Reply #9
10. It would depend upon how much $$$ is on the table.
But, yeah. No Slop. No slop and last pocket, at least.
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top
 
meow2u3 Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Wed Sep-28-05 09:28 AM
Response to Original message
11. The table is open
When you make both a solid and a stripe on the 8-ball break, we used to call it Russian pool--wunovich (one of each) :)--and the table is open.

Official rules state that the table is always open after the break.
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top
 
bertha katzenengel Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Wed Sep-28-05 09:37 AM
Response to Original message
12. THANKS TO ALL. I am playing the Orbitz flash game
I'm addicted, actually... I didn't know there was a diff between billiards and pool, either. LSKED. :hi:
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top
 
DU AdBot (1000+ posts) Click to send private message to this author Click to view 
this author's profile Click to add 
this author to your buddy list Click to add 
this author to your Ignore list Sat Apr 19th 2014, 02:55 AM
Response to Original message
Advertisements [?]
 Top

Home » Discuss » The DU Lounge Donate to DU

Powered by DCForum+ Version 1.1 Copyright 1997-2002 DCScripts.com
Software has been extensively modified by the DU administrators


Important Notices: By participating on this discussion board, visitors agree to abide by the rules outlined on our Rules page. Messages posted on the Democratic Underground Discussion Forums are the opinions of the individuals who post them, and do not necessarily represent the opinions of Democratic Underground, LLC.

Home  |  Discussion Forums  |  Journals |  Store  |  Donate

About DU  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy

Got a message for Democratic Underground? Click here to send us a message.

© 2001 - 2011 Democratic Underground, LLC