You are viewing an obsolete version of the DU website which is no longer supported by the Administrators. Visit The New DU.
Democratic Underground Latest Greatest Lobby Journals Search Options Help Login
Google

Reply #54: yes and yes [View All]

Printer-friendly format Printer-friendly format
Printer-friendly format Email this thread to a friend
Printer-friendly format Bookmark this thread
This topic is archived.
Home » Discuss » Topic Forums » Election Reform Donate to DU
foo_bar Donating Member (1000+ posts) Send PM | Profile | Ignore Thu Jan-13-05 11:02 PM
Response to Reply #51
54. yes and yes
Whenever you are called upon to play in a situation where there's only one row containing more than one item, you should therefore leave an odd number of rows with a single item . Other than that, you should play misre Nim exactly like you would play normal Nim!

With this strategy, you can't lose if you play second from the classical "Marienbad" initial position described in the question. If you have to play first, you'll win only if your opponent makes a mistake (but opponents who are not aware of the above will very rarely play perfectly).


http://home.att.net/~numericana/answer/games.htm
Printer Friendly | Permalink |  | Top
 

Home » Discuss » Topic Forums » Election Reform Donate to DU

Powered by DCForum+ Version 1.1 Copyright 1997-2002 DCScripts.com
Software has been extensively modified by the DU administrators


Important Notices: By participating on this discussion board, visitors agree to abide by the rules outlined on our Rules page. Messages posted on the Democratic Underground Discussion Forums are the opinions of the individuals who post them, and do not necessarily represent the opinions of Democratic Underground, LLC.

Home  |  Discussion Forums  |  Journals |  Store  |  Donate

About DU  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy

Got a message for Democratic Underground? Click here to send us a message.

© 2001 - 2011 Democratic Underground, LLC