HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Forums & Groups » Topics » Religion & Spirituality » Atheists & Agnostics (Group) » The burden of proof
Introducing Discussionist: A new forum by the creators of DU

Wed Mar 27, 2013, 11:25 AM

The burden of proof

I don't know if this has been shared before here, since I'm rather new to DU. I find it to be a well thought-out argument. What do others think?

I thought it was worth sharing here, and perhaps it is suitable for the Religion forum as well. If so, feel free to post it there or to suggest that I do.

12 replies, 1119 views

Reply to this thread

Back to top Alert abuse

Always highlight: 10 newest replies | Replies posted after I mark a forum
Replies to this discussion thread

Response to nonoyes (Original post)

Wed Mar 27, 2013, 11:44 AM

1. Put your faith in one who seeks the truth ...

... and doubt anyone who claims to have found it.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink

Response to nonoyes (Original post)

Wed Mar 27, 2013, 09:19 PM

2. Have pity on the poor wretches with dialup, and post a tiny text summary, pls.

TIA

Reply to this post

Response to dimbear (Reply #2)

Thu Mar 28, 2013, 08:56 AM

3. A ten minute analysis of all arguments for the existence of a god,

and how they all miserably fail to provide anything close to a "burden of proof" of their assertion.

That's about as brief as I can be.

It really is a well done summary as to how logical reasoning trumps milenium old mythologies.

Reply to this post

Response to nonoyes (Reply #3)

Thu Mar 28, 2013, 07:05 PM

4. Thank you. Your summary is a gem in itself.

Tnx from the electronically disadvantaged.

Reply to this post

Response to nonoyes (Reply #3)

Fri Mar 29, 2013, 12:36 PM

5. Umm... no?

It was not an analysis of arguments for the existence of god, it was an analysis of the concept of the burden of proof itself.