Thu Nov 22, 2012, 03:52 PM
backwoodsbob (6,001 posts)
12 replies, 1303 views
that Forsett td was BY FAR (Original post)
|Son of Gob||Nov 2012||#11|
Response to backwoodsbob (Reply #2)
Thu Nov 22, 2012, 04:24 PM
bluedigger (14,146 posts)
3. It makes sense, though.
The act of throwing the flag while the play is unfolding can affect the play. Only the refs can stop the play for that reason. I honestly don't ever recall seeing that happen before, but Detroit jobbed themselves.
Response to backwoodsbob (Reply #6)
Thu Nov 22, 2012, 07:23 PM
Son of Gob (1,502 posts)
11. No they didn't.
I posted this in another thread, I'll repost it here.
Remember last season when Shorts and Harbaugh got into a tussle after the Lions-49ers game, that all started when Harbaugh tried to challenge something he couldn't and Gym Shorts was screaming across the field "Know the Rules!!". Karma came back to bite ole Shortsy today.
Response to bluedigger (Reply #3)
Thu Nov 22, 2012, 06:06 PM
mythology (5,102 posts)
8. It happened last week with Atlanta
It's a stupid rule, but there's no way the Detroit Lions coach shouldn't have known this. Although I still hear announcers suggest that a coach should challenge a scoring play or a turnover which drives me bonkers because even without the penalty aspect, all of those plays are now reviewable.
Response to backwoodsbob (Original post)
Thu Nov 22, 2012, 07:29 PM
Upton (9,709 posts)
12. They explained on the NFLN..
that the rule was put in place to avoid having coaches throw the flag in order to create a delay instead of using a timeout. I'd still be upset if I was Lions fan, but most of my anger would be directed at Schwartz , who said he knew the rule but overreacted...