HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Forums & Groups » Topics » Gender & Orientation » LGBT (Group) » "I Was Fired for Tea...
Introducing Discussionist: A new forum by the creators of DU

Tue Jan 15, 2013, 10:40 AM

"I Was Fired for Teaching About Harvey Milk."

http://www.change.org/petitions/lomas-hill-school-officials-publicly-apologize-to-cecilia-hernandez-for-unfair-dismissal-after-showing-milk?utm_source=share_petition&utm_medium=url_share&utm_campaign=url_share_before_sign&alert_id=tZsriwYKiv_DOmhKJTdjQ

"My name is Cecilia. I am an honest professional, hard-worker, justice defender and am faithful to my convictions. I am a clinical psychologist with a wide experience with teenagers. I have been working with youth in different social contexts: psychotherapies, educational orientation and in classrooms.

On November 30th, I was the victim of an injustice: I was unjustifiably and aggressively fired from the middle school Colegio Lomas Hill and treated like a delinquent by the schoolís authorities. I was deprived of my freedom for two hours, watched over by security guards and humiliated in front of the institutionís staff and students' families. I have been morally hurt.

Why was I fired? Because I showed the movie "Milk" to my middle school students. The film tells the story of a recognized fighter for gay rights. The prejudices of the school authorities toward the movie and their intolerance on the gender diversity theme were clear and evident, even if the official program requires approaching these subjects."

Mexican schools of today. US schools of tomorrow. If teachers have no job protections and no unions there is no such thing as freedom of thought and freedom of expression in the classroom.

Do we really want people like Gates, Koch and the Walmart clan deciding whether or not ( and HOW) lgbt subjects can be taught in school?

I don't think so. ( Sign the petition, BTW) Thanks.