On verge of state history, Oregon golfer loses state title to scorecard violation
I'm not a golf fan and I'm not really a sports fan in general. But I read this story and I just had to post it. I feel so sorry for Inglis, what an absolutely unfortunate mistake- and at the worst time!
Eugene (Ore.) Churchill High girls golfer Caroline Inglis was on the cusp of history. After winning the Oregon Scholastic Activities Association Class 5A state tournament during each of her first three years, Inglis finished the final round of the 2012 state tournament with a 3-under 69, a score that completed a dominant performance that was nine shots better than anyone else in the tournament.
All Inglis had to do to ensure history would be made was sign her scorecard. As it turns out, that's precisely what got her in trouble.
As reported by the Portland Oregonian, Inglis' scorecard actually credited her with a 4-under 68 in the final round, one shot better than Inglis' actual score. The error was the result of Inglis' playing partner hastily crediting the Churchill senior with a par on the 18th hole when she actually scored a bogey, but by the time Inglis noticed her partner's mistake, she had already signed her scorecard.
That gave OSAA officials no choice but to disqualify their rightful champion, because the state championship tournament was played under official USGA rules which call for any players signing inaccurate scorecards to be DQ'd.
Much more at the link, including more to the story. What an awful thing to happen...