HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Forums & Groups » Main » General Discussion (Forum) » I was a "draft dodge...
Introducing Discussionist: A new forum by the creators of DU

Mon Feb 11, 2013, 06:27 PM

I was a "draft dodger"

I have seen that term used many times here at DU as a put down.
Here's my story: I went to high school in Honolulu, graduated in 1968. My dad was a career serviceman, a Lieutenant Colonel in the Air Force, stationed at Hickam AFB with PACAF intelligence. So I had been around the military my whole life. I knew from the time I was about 15 that what was going on in Vietnam was not right. I was listening to Dylan and Baez etc. When I graduated in '68 I was 17 and headed off to college in Oregon. My roommate was 16, a prodigy, a young lanky black kid with a big "Free Huey"(Huey Newton, Black Panther) button on his jacket. I learned a lot about racism from him and his brothers. About how black men were drafted to fight in Vietnam while still facing huge prejudices in their own country. Muhammad Ali also provided an inspiration, refusing to serve and going to jail for his beliefs. Then in late '68 I met David Harris, an antiwar activist. (He later married Joan Baez). He spoke at my college and afterwards I spoke with him privately. I told him I had just turned 18 and was against the war too and that my draft board was in Honolulu. His advice was 'don't register'. And I didn't. There was a huge swell of anti-warism then. People would sing "Feel Like I'm Fixin' to Die" by Country Joe and the Fish. People would protest.