HomeLatest ThreadsGreatest ThreadsForums & GroupsMy SubscriptionsMy Posts
DU Home » Latest Threads » Forums & Groups » Main » General Discussion (Forum) » It’s a Sadistic Story, an...
Introducing Discussionist: A new forum by the creators of DU

Wed Jan 23, 2013, 04:35 PM

It’s a Sadistic Story, and France Wants It

By ELAINE SCIOLINO
Published: January 21, 2013

PARIS — “The 120 Days of Sodom,” by the Marquis de Sade, is one of the most perverse works of 18th-century literature.

It tells the story of four rich “libertines” who lock themselves in a remote medieval castle with 46 victims (including eight boys and eight girls, ages 12 to 15). The men are assisted by four female brothel keepers who arouse their hosts by recounting their outlandish (and embellished) experiences.

The work describes orgies and acts of abuse — sexual and otherwise — including pedophilia, necrophilia, incest, torture, rape, murder, infanticide, bestiality, violent anal and oral sex acts and the use of urination and defecation to humiliate and punish.

Sade called it “the most impure tale that has ever been told since our world began.”

More at the link: http://www.nytimes.com/2013/01/22/books/frances-national-library-hopes-to-buy-sades-120-days.html?_r=0

Word of warning for anyone interested in buying this book: There are two different versions published. One version is the story, and the other version is just the list of the 600 passions as imagined by Sade.

Side Note: There is a really well-made Italian movie which mostly consists of the introduction and first chapter The 120 Days of Sodom, named Salo, and was directed by Pier Paolo Pasolini. It's pretty intense, and not for everyone, but I highly suggest it for fans of Sade or Pasolini.

4 replies, 1038 views

Reply to this thread

Back to top Alert abuse

Always highlight: 10 newest replies | Replies posted after I mark a forum
Replies to this discussion thread
Arrow 4 replies Author Time Post
Reply It’s a Sadistic Story, and France Wants It (Original post)
ZombieHorde Jan 2013 OP
JustAnotherGen Jan 2013 #1
ZombieHorde Jan 2013 #3
sadbear Jan 2013 #2
ZombieHorde Jan 2013 #4

Response to ZombieHorde (Original post)

Wed Jan 23, 2013, 04:37 PM

1. I've actually read it

The whole entire thing. It's sick beyond belief. But he is their guy - so they should get it.

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to JustAnotherGen (Reply #1)

Wed Jan 23, 2013, 04:38 PM

3. It's awesome. nt

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to ZombieHorde (Original post)

Wed Jan 23, 2013, 04:37 PM

2. The Aristocrats!

Ya think there might be a connection?

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink


Response to sadbear (Reply #2)

Wed Jan 23, 2013, 04:40 PM

4. Ha! Could be. nt

Reply to this post

Back to top Alert abuse Link here Permalink

Reply to this thread